Pascal

Pascal

The C in CSS

Cascade

Cascade is important in CSS. It helps identifying which ruleset is applied to an element when there are multiple conflicting CSS declarations available.

The way cascade works is as follows:

First Group

  • Transition
  • !important
  • Animation
  • The normal way

Then, we look at the following:

Second Group

Rules can be defined in 3 locations:

  • Website
  • User
  • Browser

Third Group

  • Style inlining
  • CSS selectors using id, class and type. To know the specificity of a ruleset, the following number notation can be used (id, class, type) where id is most important. For example, the ruleset having the selector #my-id.my-class (1,1,0) will be applied instead of #my-id (1,0,0). And #my-id (1,0,0) will be applied instead of .my-class div (0,1,1)

When there are still conflicting rulesets, the following help in chosing the one to apply:

Fourth Group

  • The order in which the rulesets are declared